Jim Dunn Memorial Set for this Saturday Night at MCS!!!
Click to Enlarge!(July 20, 2021) The 39th Annual Jim Dunn Memorial will take place at Muskingum County Speedway in Zanesville, OH on Saturday July 24 and will feature the Valvoline Iron-Man Late Model Northern Series in a full program of Practice, E-Z-GO Time Trials, Sunoco Race Fuels Heats, Impact RaceGear B-Mains, and the 40-lap, $10,000 to win 39th Annual Jim Dunn Memorial main event. Joining the Valvoline Iron-Man Late Model Northern Series in action at Muskingum County Speedway for the Jim Dunn Memorial will be the track’s UMP Modifieds ($1,500 to win), Mod-Lites ($500 to win), Sport Mods ($500 to win), and Four Cylinders ($1,000 to win).

Activities at Muskingum County Speedway for the 39th Annual Jim Dunn Memorial on Saturday July 24 will see the pit area open at 2:00 p.m., with the general admission area set to open at 3:00 p.m. The drivers meeting will be at 5:30 p.m., with practice laps set to begin at 6:00 p.m., with time trials and green flag racing to follow. Ticket prices at Muskingum County Speedway for the 39th Annual Jim Dunn Memorial on Saturday July 24 in the general admission area will be $30, with children ages 12 and under free. A pit pass will be $40, with children ages 12 and under $20. There is free camping available at the track, but there are no hook-ups.

The Valvoline Iron-Man Late Model Series will sanction the Super Late Model portion of the evente and the tire rule will be as follows: Left Rear/Fronts–Hoosier Rib (28.5) 1300; Right Rear–Hoosier (29.0) 1300 NRM, Hoosier (29.0) 1300 NRMW, Hoosier (29.0) 1425 NRM, Hoosier (29.0) 1425 NRMW (NO 29.0 size tires on the left rear and there is NO droop rule). Teams must use the same set of 4 tires for Qualifying, Heat Races, and B-Mains. For the Feature, teams may use two (2) new rear tires (flat tire must be replaced with a used tire of the same compound and construction). The entry fee will be $100 and transponders for timing/scoring will be available for rent at the track. Any driver not making the 22-car starting field will receive $75 tow money.

The Jim Dunn Memorial is contested in memory of the late Jim Dunn, who lost his life in a tragic racing accident at a NDRA race at Paducah International Raceway on May 8, 1983. Calling Roseville, OH home and a teacher by trade, Dunn would be thrust onto the national scene in October 1981 when he scored the victory in the inaugural Dirt Track World Championship at Pennsboro Speedway in Pennsboro, WV, that at the time paid an unprecedented $30,000 top prize.

In what is considered one of the ultimate underdog stories of all time, Dunn was set to load and head home and bypass his B-Main after his car was damaged in a heat race incident, but his hauler would not start, so his team unloaded the race car and got it prepared for the B-Main and he would transfer to the main event from his B-main and start 23rd in the field and would work his way through the field and take the lead from Rodney Combs on lap eighty-eight and the rest was history and the legend of Jim Dunn was born. Dunn would capture the six career All Star Circuit of Champion Late Model Series victories, including the series championship in 1980 and 1982, along with two career wins with the Midwest Outlaw Super Series and the 1980 series title, along with numerous victories at many other tracks. Dunn was very likable and highly respected by his fellow racers and was an inductee into the initial National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame class in 2001.

For more information about Muskingum County Speedway, please call (740) 754-9199 or visit the track’s webpage at www.MuskingumCountySpeedway.com.

Muskingum County Speedway Jim Dunn Memorial Feature Purse (40 laps): 1. $10,000, 2. $5,000, 3. $2,500, 4. $2,000, 5. $1,500, 6. $1,100, 7. $1,000, 8. $950, 9. $900, 10. $850, 11. $800, 12. $750, 13. $650, 14. $600, 15. $550, 16. $530, 17. $520, 18. $500, 19. $500, 20. $500, 21. $500, 22. $500.

Previous Jim Dunn Memorial Winners:
1983-Donnie Moran (Frazeyburg, OH)
1984-No Race
1985-Ned Lucas (Beaver Dam, KY)
1986-Donnie Moran (Frazeyburg, OH)
1987-Ben Hess (Wadsworth, OH)
1988-Jack Boggs (Grayson, KY)
1989-Donnie Moran (Frazeyburg, OH)
1990-Donnie Moran (Frazeyburg, OH)
1991-Freddy Smith (Kings Mountain, NC)
1992-Donnie Moran (Frazeyburg, OH)
1993-Davey Johnson (Imperial, PA)
1994-Davey Johnson (Imperial, PA)
1995-Bart Hartman (Zanesville, OH)
1996-Jack Boggs (Grayson, KY)
1997-Larry Bond (Coolville, OH)
1998-No Race
1999-Mike Balzano (Parkersburg, WV)
2000-Steve Shaver (Vienna, WV)
2001-Cortney Clewell (Zanesville, OH)
2002-Corey Conley (Wellsburg, WV)
2003-Bart Hartman (Zanesville, OH)
2004-Earl Pearson, Jr. (Jacksonville, FL)
2005-Steve Shaver (Vienna, WV)
2006-Rick Aukland (Zanesville, OH)
2007-Earl Pearson, Jr. (Jacksonville, FL)
2008-Donnie Moran (Dresden, OH)
2009-Steve Shaver (Vienna, WV)
2010-Ray Cook (Brasstown, NC)
2011-No Race
2012-Zack Dohm (Cross Lanes, WV)
2013-Jackie Boggs (Grayson, KY)
2014-Tyler Carpenter (Parkersburg, WV)
2015-Jared Hawkins (Fairmont, WV)
2016-Freddie Carpenter (Parkersburg, WV)
2017-Tyler Carpenter (Parkersburg, WV)
2018-Devin Moran (Dresden, OH)
2019-No Race
2020-No Race due to COVID-19




Delph Communications Home Schedule Results Rules Contact Home Schedule Results Rules Contact Like Us on Facebook! Follow Us on Twitter! Email Us Today!