Like Us on Facebook! Follow Us on Twitter! Email Us Today!
Like Us on Facebook!

Duncan Takes First Ever Morosco Memorial at Muskingum
(August 5, 2023) The Muskingum County Speedway paid special tribute to the late Louis Morosco on Saturday night with the Ti22 Performance FAST on Dirt series. Morosco, a racer himself, purchased the land in 1939 to build Zanesville Speedway, where the Moran family now operates the facility as we know it today.

What the field lacked in numbers was more than made up with the quality of the 16 sprint cars who signed in for competition. Sean Rayhall set quick time in ARP Fasteners qualifying to lead group one, then, ironically, former World of Outlaw Rookie of the Year Brandon Wimmer led group 2 with an identical 13.627 second lap. The pair of caution free heat races were won by 2019 tour champion Cole Duncan and third in current tour points Danny Sams III.

Cole Duncan would draw the pole position for the 30-lap main event and bring the field to green alongside Jordan Ryan with Sams and Rayhall in row 2 while Wimmer and Jake Hesson started from the third row. Duncan wasted no time in getting to the lead early but pressure came quickly from Hesson who had his mount working well on the high side. Hesson was able to take the lead on lap 9, but the lead was short lived as Duncan got back by, then Hesson spun in front of the field in turn 2 bringing out the first of 3 cautions.

Back under green, it was seventh starting Brandon Spithaler who appeared to be the threat to the leader as he closed in to wage a torrid battle at the point. The battle between the pair of 22 cars was slowed 2 more times late for a stalled car of Bradley Ashford and a spin by Lee Haskins. But in the final shootout, Duncan proved strong enough to hold off the current tour point leader, forcing Spithaler to settle for second with Brandon Wimmer finishing third.

The story of the night for many was Ricky Peterson and his team, who had engine trouble in qualifying and the heat race, then pulled an engine change on a night that moved through the program very quickly. Peterson started 16th in the main event, passing 5 cars in the opening 5 laps, then rolling on to a fourth-place finish and earn the Indy Race Parts "Hard Charger" award. Jordan Ryan completed a very stout top 5 finishers. The rest of the top 10 included Rayhall, Bryan Nuckles, Sams, Hesson and Jeremy Weaver.

The next event for the FAST on Dirt tour is Saturday, August 26 at Lernerville Speedway. Then, a week later, the tour will invade Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway on Saturday, September 2 with the following day being the prestigious Pete Jacobs Memorial at Wayne County Speedway! Make plans to join us as the 2023 season begins to wind down.

Muskingum County Speedway
Dresden, OH
Saturday, August 5, 2023
Lou Morosco Memorial
16 Entries

ARP Fasteners Qualifying
Group 1: 1. 19-Sean Rayhall 13.627, 2. 22-Brandon Spithaler 13.687, 3. 25R-Jordan Ryan 13.748, 4. 22D-Cole Duncan 13.807, 5. 23jr-Jack Sodeman Jr 13.999, 6. 4-Danny Smith 14.330, 7. 4x-Bradley Ashford 14.437, 8. 1B-Keith Baxter 14.703

Group 2: 1. A79-Brandon Wimmer 13.627, 2. 5J-Jake Hesson 13.908, 3. 24D-Danny Sams III 14.019, 4. 5-Jeremy Weaver 14.068, 5. 59-Bryan Nuckles 14.134, 6. TA79-Devin Moran 14.300, 7. 2-Ricky Peterson 14.317, 8. 24-Lee Haskins 15.034

NAPA of Fremont - Heat 1: 1. 22D-Duncan[1] ; 2. 25R-Ryan[2] ; 3. 22-Spithaler[3] ; 4. 19-Rayhall[4] ; 5. 23jr-Sodeman[5] ; 6. 4-Smith[6] ; 7. 1B-Baxter[8] ; 8. 4x-Ashford[7]

Mad Tree Brewing - Heat 2: 1. 24D-Sams[2] ; 2. 5J-Hesson[3] ; 3. A79-Wimmer[4] ; 4. 5-Weaver[1] ; 5. 59-Nuckles[5] ; 6. TA79-Moran[6] ; 7. 24-Haskins[8] ; 8. 2-Peterson[7]

Ti22 Performance - A Main: 1. 22D-Duncan[1] ; 2. 22-Spithaler[7] ; 3. A79-Wimmer[5] ; 4. 2-Peterson[16] ; 5. 25R-Ryan[2] ; 6. 19-Rayhall[4] ; 7. 59-Nuckles[10] ; 8. 24D-Sams[3] ; 9. 5J-Hesson[6] ; 10. 5-Weaver[8] ; 11. 4-Smith[11] ; 12. 1B-Baxter[13] ; 13. TA79-Moran[12] ; 14. 24-Haskins[14] ; 15. 23jr-Sodeman[9] ; 16. 4x-Ashford[15]

Indy Race Parts - Hard Charger: 2-Peterson +12

All Star Performance - Hard Luck: 23jr-Jack Sodeman Jr

Super Late Models
1. 10-Nathon Loney[2]; 2. 144-Anthony Kinkade[7]; 3. 20-Todd Brennan[1]; 4. 59-Mitch Caskey[4]; 5. 21G-Gary Gellner[11]; 6. K11-George Klintworth[10]; 7. 1-Paul Spear[13]; 8. 8-Justin Bradford[9]; 9. (DNF) 99-Wylie Moran[12]; 10. (DNF) 55-Jesse Wisecarver[3]; 11. (DNF) 61-Tony Paynter[14]; 12. (DNF) W1-Cory Workman[5]; 13. (DNF) 76-Brock Star Stevens[15]; 14. (DNF) 2-Rick Mardis[6]; 15. (DNF) 4H-Vic Hottinger[8]; 16. (DNS) 12-Doug Dodd

Elite Munitions Modifieds
1. 101-Jesse Wisecarver[1]; 2. 17E-Lance Elson[6]; 3. 45-Sam Lovejoy[2]; 4. 5-Jess Hartman[3]; 5. S25-Pete Caplinger[14]; 6. 11-Leighton Wetzel[21]; 7. 10X-Roscoe Greiner[13]; 8. 15R-Kurt Rogers[4]; 9. 85-Robin Duston[7]; 10. 55S-Rick Schmitt[19]; 11. 15-Larry Jarrett[5]; 12. 21G-Trent Goins[16]; 13. (DNF) 56Z-Tuff Zemba[17]; 14. (DNF) 75-Tristen Bickford[10]; 15. (DNF) 99-Derek Davis[15]; 16. (DNF) 190-Timmy Glassburn[8]; 17. (DNF) 5V-Clark VanHouten[20]; 18. (DNF) 77-Joshua Waite[22]; 19. (DNF) 76J-Jeremy Waite[9]; 20. (DNF) H66-William Harris[12]; 21. (DNS) 39S-Ronald Schmitt; 22. (DNS) 29-Scott Smith

1. 280-Jimmy Smith[1]; 2. 59M-Tanner McLoughlin[2]; 3. 12-Ryan Dodd[3]; 4. 1-Blake Morris[4]; 5. 07-Logan Patrick[10]; 6. 31D-David Dooley[9]; 7. (DNF) 101-Dalton Wisecarver[8]; 8. (DNF) 44-Levi Lease[7]; 9. (DNF) 24-Chip Bailey[6]; 10. (DNF) 84-Titus Purtee[5]; 11. (DNS) 17-Jake Bowman

Sport Mods
1. 156-James Dennis[3]; 2. 02-Joey Chambers[2]; 3. 25-Ron Pickens[5]; 4. 0-Tim Morris[6]; 5. 25S-Tim Siddle[4]; 6. (DNF) 11-Jason Brennan[1]

1. 42JR-Chaz Dawson Jr[5]; 2. 21B-Jeremy Balsley[3]; 3. 27-Darrell Newman[4]; 4. 7-Mick Willison[7]; 5. 15-Zach Medley[12]; 6. 5N-James Nesbitt[17]; 7. 75X-Chris Gaunder[16]; 8. 09X-Lane Taylor[18]; 9. 19W-TJ Wells[13]; 10. C45-Colton St John[1]; 11. (DNF) 77X-Jeff Keith[8]; 12. (DNF) 22MWP-Jacob McDaniel[2]; 13. (DNF) 60C-Michael Chappman[14]; 14. (DNF) 19M-Danny Moss[10]; 15. (DNF) 17-Madison Glancy[11]; 16. (DNF) 16X-Tom Wilson[15]; 17. (DNF) 55C-Ralph Carnes[9]; 18. (DNF) 777-Howard Rock Jr[6]; 19. (DNS) 55-Parker Novaria












Delph Communications Home Schedule Results Rules Contact Home Schedule Results Rules Contact Like Us on Facebook! Follow Us on Twitter! Email Us Today! Delph Communications